thumbnail_Gort_4199_HR_V1Cristian Germán Gort

Cristian Germán Gort started his studies in composition and musical writing, conducting, history, piano, brass, and percussion, in his home country, Argentina. From the age of 5 he was a member of orchestras, ensembles, choirs and theater groups. In 1994, he obtained a position in the lyric seminar of the renowned San Martin Theater in Córdoba, Argentina, with which he toured all over the country. In 1997, he continued his studies in orchestration and composition at Laval University, where he obtained a master’s degree in composition. He then studied analysis and conducting at the Montreal Conservatory of Music, where he was awarded the orchestral conducting award in 2001.

He is currently the artistic director and conductor of the Orchestre Symphonique de l’Isle and of the Musica Viva vocal ensemble. He has also taught at Université de Montréal’s Atelier de musique contemporaine and at McGill University. His strong interest in 20th and 21st century music has led him to participate in the premieres of many works (symphonic music, operas, chamber and choral music) in Europe, Asia and Latin America. In 2016, he completed is fifth collaboration with Chants libres productions, taking part in the creation of a new opera, The Trials of Patricia Isasa by Kristin Norderval, which was awarded two Opus Prizes for Concert of the year – Modern music, contemporary, and Concert of the year – Montreal.

He has also collaborated with several other creations, such as Exercises de conversation et de diction française pour étudiants américains by José Evangelista, Prochain depart by Simon Bertrand, Sans électricité les oiseaux disparaissent (Photopera) by Vincent Olivier-Gagnon, Foudroyé by Ben Shemi , Isabelle Panneton’s Arche, Tim Brady’s Three Cities in the Life of Dr. Norman Bethume, and Alban Berg’s Wozzeck produced at the Lille Opera in France. He directed the creation of the musical psychodrama theater La Faim d’Artaud by Analia Llugdar and the opera-performance Perdre Pied by Jimmie Leblanc. Among his other creations, he created John Oliver’s Alternate Visions opera at Usine C in Montreal and Fausto Romitelli’s video-opera An Index of Metal.




Winds et Percussion


Jean-Yves Chevrolat, solo
Anne Marie Poirier
Anne-Isabelle Bourdon
Félix Gagnon-Grenier
Julie Gagnon
Madeleine Chaput
Paola Moresoli
Sophie Jauvin
Catherine Soum
Gabrielle Gauthier-Durand
Tina Carriere
Isabelle Courtois
Christian Mallet
Maika Jangal
Gabrielle Tremblay
Gabriel Cayer
Nadine Pelletier
Ben Delaney
Bertrand Nguyen
Colleen Stanton


Nadine Kolment, solo
Claudia Mack
Yanie Gelinas
Juliette Lees
Chantal Ouellet
Camille Laplante-Rayworth
Tom Rayburn
Mathieu Voghel-Robert


Serge Paradis, solo
Boyan Djefersky
Marie Corbeil
Aude Bandini
François Martin-Vogel
Theresa Gossmann
Corinne Bergeron


Carlos Maldonado Cisneros
Pablo Seib
Gabriel Drolet


Melissa Pipe


Micheline Ellyson
Patricia McMullen


Carl Chapdelaine
Mihail Zhekov
Claudine Tarte


Annie Thibault
Daniel Després
David Weigens


Colin Chalk
Shems Zidane
Roanne Levitt


Allison Duff
Laura Heino
Sylvie Allard


Sylvain Nolet
Chantal Turcotte
Stephen Grott


Alex Gutjahr
Jonathan Talbot


Karim Benmbarek


Laurence Loiselle-Dupuis



Brigitte Couture – President
Christian Mallet – Vice-President
Anne-Isabelle Bourdon – Program and communications
Chantale Turcotte – Internal communications
Micheline Ellyson – Logistics
Catherine Soum – Secretary
Nicolas Jelic – Treasurer

Artistic Committee

Cristian Gort, artistic director
Colin Chalk
Jean-Yves Chevrolat
Laura Heino
Nadine Kolment
Sylvain Nolet


Graphics – Mikaela Duberry
Recording – Mark Corwin, Jan Marut and Simon Bellefleur
Music Librarian- Colin Chalk